The Star Wars Phenomenon

Daniel Poussart

October 26, 2022

Daniel Poussart

The Star Wars movie franchise has become one of the most famous pop culture phenomena. George Lucas began the franchise with the 1977 film “Star Wars,” and it quickly became a global phenomenon. The storyline has many different incarnations, including Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back, Episode VI – Return of the Jedi, and Episode VII – The Force Awakens.

Episode V — The Empire Strikes Back

The Empire Strikes Back is an epic 1980 American space opera film directed by Irvin Kershner, based on the story by George Lucas. It is the second installment in the Star Wars film series and the fifth chronological chapter in the “Skywalker Saga.”

The movie follows the story of Luke Skywalker, a Jedi Knight, as he tries to save Princess Leia Organa and her son Han Solo. This epic battle between Luke and Darth Vader is epic and exciting.

Episode VI – Return of the Jedi

Star Wars Episode VI – Return of the Jedi is an epic 1983 space opera film. It was written by George Lucas and Lawrence Kasdan and produced by George Lucas. The film is one of the most successful franchises in cinema history. The story is about the Jedi and their quest to save the galaxy.

The film is set when the Empire was building a new Death Star. In this time, Luke Skywalker and his crew are entrusted with the mission of freeing Han Solo from the grasp of the Galactic Empire. Meanwhile, the Rebel Alliance is preparing to attack the Death Star. Meanwhile, Jabba the Hutt, who has also captured Princess Leia, still held Han Solo captive. To save the fugitive Han Solo, Luke Skywalker and his crew must fight Darth Vader. The film also features Chewbacca, Yoda, R2-D2, Lando Calrissian, Ewoks, and many more.

Episode VII — The Force Awakens

 The Force Awakens is the seventh installment in the Star Wars franchise. Initially announced in 2012, the film was produced by J.J. Abrams and Bryan Burk and is directed by Rian Johnson. The film features the return of familiar cast members. In addition, John Williams composed the film’s memorable score.

The Force Awakens aims to appeal to both young and old fans of the series. It introduces new characters, as well as reintroduces old favorites. The movie’s storyline is similar to the previous three installments, but there is less blood than in Episodes V and VI. Also, it has a proactive young female lead character.

Episode VIII — The Rise of Skywalker

Star Wars: Episode VIII – The Rise of Skywalker is a sequel to The Last Jedi and makes many direct references to its predecessor. The film retcons parts of The Last Jedi, such as how Kylo tells Emperor Palpatine how to kill Snoke, and it also reveals that Palpatine was behind Snoke’s execution.

 While The Last Jedi is longer than any other Star Wars movie, Episode VIII – The Rise of Skywalker is the third-longest Star Wars movie (after A New Hope). Initially, Colin Trevorrow was going to direct Episode IX, but he backed out because of creative differences. J.J. Abrams now produces the movie.

Rogue One

Screenplay credit goes to Chris Weitz and Tony Gilroy. As a standalone film, Rogue One follows a team of unlikely heroes on a mission to steal the Death Star plans. It is a significant event in the history of Star Wars and brings together ordinary people who become part of something bigger than themselves.


The Mandalorian is a race of warriors who live on the planet Mandalore. They are descendants of the Taung, who were native to Coruscant and fought the Human legions of Shell. When a volcanic eruption destroyed Coruscant, the Taung fled to Mandalore, where they eventually conquered the planet and became the greatest warriors in the galaxy.

It also won several other awards, including a Critics’ Choice Television Award, one British Academy Television Award, and three MTV Movie and TV Awards. 

Episode IX — The Phantom Menace

“Star Wars Episode IX – The Phantom Menace” is the ninth installment in the Star Wars franchise, and it returns to theaters after a 3-D conversion. The film retells the story of a young enslaved person Anakin Skywalker, who develops unusual Force powers. Unfortunately, he must also face the mysterious return of the Sith. 

The Phantom Menace is an American epic space opera film released in 1999. It was directed by George Lucas and starred Ewan McGregor, Jake Lloyd, and Liam Neeson. The film takes place 32 years before the events of the original trilogy. It introduces the characters of Obi-Wan Kenobi and Jedi Master Qui-Gon Jinn. The story also traces the beginnings of the first Jedi Order.